Kaizen · Training

Mind. Blown.

kaizen

There was something that my coaches and fellow practitioners spoke about when I first started doing jiu-jitsu – they spoke about the fact that Brazilian Jiu Jitsu would blow my mind.

At first I had no idea what they meant. How could a sport do that? You don’t really hear about hockey players having their mind blown by some new tackling move.

Then it happened to me. I think it’s the moment where all the principal based teaching at Kaizen started to come together and began to open up a myriad of possibilities as to what I could do with my jiu-jitsu. I started to see moves and opportunities everywhere, and now at least 4 out of 5 times I step onto the mats at Kaizen something new is revealed to me; some new technique or possibility that hadn’t thought of before.

demo

I was discussing this with Ze the other day, and also about the difficulty of conveying what this phenomenon is, and just how it happens. People who don’t do BJJ sometimes struggle to comprehend what I’m talking about. I think it comes from the fact that the instructors are just so involved with what they’re teaching. Not a day goes by when I don’t see Michael sitting in the lounge watching some jiu-jitsu video, or on the mats testing out some new theory or other. Each of the instructors is devoted to understanding the academic and scholastic approaches to their art, not just to being able to execute a move in a monkey see, monkey do kind of way. Not only this, but it also comes from the way that the principals are explained to the students, so that once the principal is understood, lots of different opportunities are available.

Ze described it well once, but I’d like to expand on his analogy. Imagine Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu as a corridor with a million and more doors. What Kaizen Academy does is hand you the master key, and show you how to adapt it, so you can open up hundreds of thousands of doors in one fell swoop as long as you understand how it works. This is in comparison to some other teaching techniques which would see you crafting the key to each door individually. This is what I mean when I say my mind is blown. It’ll be because the move I’ve just witnessed and understood has allowed me to open another hundred thousand doors.

Hope that made sense…

Until next time,

B

x

 With thanks to Laura Jenney Photography for the image.

Leave a Reply

