General · Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday: July 2016

13342215_10153640514389499_1570926257_n

Each month I’ll be highlighting the most popular post from the previous month, so if you missed it perchance you don’t have to go back through to find it! Find out what your fellow BJJers and bloggers were loving last month…

So without further ado: Is BJJ A Feminist Sport?

I’ve already written a blog post about how lucky I am in the fact that I have a lot of girls to train with at Kaizen Academy – there’s now about ten regular girls who do Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. I recently read an article in the jiu-jitsu times that suggested that there is a lot of competition between girls who do the sport and not just the good kind that happens when we roll or spar. It suggested that girls can become territorial over mat space, their gym, their training partners, and other things when confronted with the prospect of a new girl joining up. This got me wondering two things; a) how true it was, and b) whether BJJ had the credentials to be considered a “feminist sport”. Stay with me on this one… 

Read the rest of the blog post and see why I think BJJ has the makings of a feminist sport.

Until next time,

B

 

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: July 2016

  1. Great read! I love reading about women and women topics in BJJ.

    At my gym, there is only me and one other girl. I don’t get to train with her very much because she is an MMA fighter getting ready to go pro and so she spends most of her mat time training for upcoming fights. I always feel like I’m wasting her time if I ask her to roll. It would be nice to be able to roll with other women more often to get a better grasp of how I stack up with my own gender and size. My first taste of that will most likely be in competition.

    I’ve been incredibly lucky too that the men at my gym are very, very accepting of me. They don’t take it easy on me because I’m a girl. I always appreciate that. And, I haven’t had a single one refuse to roll with me.

    And, I’m 100% with you on the pink. I don’t mind pink. It’s not my favorite color, but I don’t hate it. It’s just not a color I would choose. It’s kind of annoying that sometimes pink is the only female option.

    Like

    1. That seems to be the story in a lot of places, but it is getting a lot more popular and more air time (or at least it seems to be!), so hopefully you’ll get more women joining at your gym soon!
      Yeah, most of the guys at the gym are great too. Lovely, lovely training partners.

      Like

Leave a Reply

