Kaizen

Stripe One

kaizen

I was like a puppy at training last night, I was that pleased and excited: I received my first stripe on my belt!

Apparently I’m the first person Michael has ever striped, despite the fact that he’s nearly a brown belt. According to IBJJF guidelines you can have up to four stripes on your belt before being considered ready for the next one. So I’ve made my first step, but I’ve still got a long way to go. I’m excited for the journey.

First stripe!
My first shiny stripe

I am very much still the minnow in the shark tank, but it does feel like some of my hard work over the past eight months has paid off and been recognised, which is a great feeling. I have my first national competition in the gi next month, so I’ll be able to test out my skills there. I’m sure I’ll be up against girls who’ve got two, three and four stripes on their belt, but I’ve got to start somewhere, right?

Until next time,

B

Leave a Reply

