An Alphabet of BJJ · General

E Is For Enjoying Exercise: An Alphabet of BJJ

kaizen

I was flicking through the interwebs the other day, as you do when you’ve got nothing better to do, or you’re sitting on the bus etc. etc. and I stumbled across a quote from a Victoria’s Secret model about how she maintains her body. I think it was an in an article from women’s health or something of the like. I can’t remember the exact quote, but it was something along the lines of you may hate running, but you gotta do it. It works man. 

I couldn’t help but think; good for you love.

I am one of those people who definitely fall into the category of loathing running. Particularly running outside. I will do it in a gym if I absolutely must, but even then it’s a very big struggle. I just don’t see the point, I struggle to pace myself, I don’t enjoy it, my headphones fall out… urgh. I know some people absolutely love running, and props to them, but I think what got me about the quote was that she was implying she hated it too and yet still did it in order to maintain her body.

Newsflash: Running is not the only thing you can do to have a healthy and/or athletic body.

I wrote a piece about a week ago saying that whilst I had been adequate (at best) at sport at school, it was martial arts that had really brought out the sporty person in me. This sport turned me into someone who looks forward to going to the gym, rather than looking at it with dread, or as a necessity. I had a fair amount of enthusiasm for certain sports at school, as I mentioned in a previous post, including netball and tennis. Others, such as hockey and athletics, I hated with a passion. Mostly because I sucked at them, and my gym  teachers did little to change that.

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and martial arts has made me love exercise. I guess this is something I should’ve known a lot earlier. I can distinctly remember when I was a lot younger, primary school age, a teacher’s report that said “Bryony is very free with her feet”. This meaning that whenever somebody annoyed me I had a tendency to lash out and attempt to kick them. Maybe if my parents had entertained the idea they would’ve made me do taekwondo or something. Having said that, I don’t think there was anywhere in the near vicinity to where I lived that offered such a sport.

Either way, I had to wait until I got to university to discover this sport, and to discover my passion for it. It’s been just over three years since I started kickboxing, and I’ve never looked back since as I became more and more obsessed. That’s all I’m really trying to say here – there is something out there for everyone (probably!). If you’d have told me when I was fifteen that sport was going to become such a major part of my life, I would’ve laughed at you and thought that such a thing was not possible. Yet, here I am, nearly eight years later(!) and it’s one of my absolute passions, and something I couldn’t imagine going without.

So, whatever you do, don’t think running or cross-training is the only thing you can do. If you want to do something different – go for it! I’ve heard Roller Derby is very fun… unfortunately I don’t have time to try it out, but I would if I could.

Until next time,

B

 

Leave a Reply

